Register | Login
Attackpoint - performance and training tools for orienteering athletes

Training Log Archive: BigWillyStyle

In the 1 days ending Feb 7, 2016:

activity # timemileskm+m
  Cycling1 49:45 14.08(17.0/h) 22.66(27.3/h) 308
  Running1 11:07 1.32(8:25) 2.12(5:14)
  Total2 1:00:52 15.4(3:57) 24.78(2:27) 308

» now

Sunday Feb 7, 2016 #

12 PM

Cycling 22:09 [3] 6.82 mi (18.5 mph) +107m

Cycling 27:36 [3] 7.26 mi (15.8 mph) +201m

For lack of somewhere else to go, rode ye olde commute route from days of yore; don't have the numbers in front of me but I think I was near or better than both my old PRs, and probably shattered two or three of my mile PRs - mainly the climbing miles. Weird.
1 PM

Running warm up/down 11:07 [2] 1.32 mi (8:25 / mi)

Now that the Winter Series is complete, let's revisit the prospective storylines laid out back in November, and compare with how things went:

Will it be a clean Kiwi sweep?
Short answer: No. Our erstwhile Kiwis only raced twice, as they were out of town for three events, and somehow got conned into course-setting two others. Had they qualified, a sweep would've been entirely plausible, as their combined four scores were 1, 2, 2, 5.

Will Heather make a triumphant return?
Yes...for a fleeting moment. Heather won the first three events handily, then unfortunately was re-injured and may be done orienteering for good. A sad day.

Will the King of the Winter Series reclaim his throne?
Short answer: No. Though the Bonesaw led the standings early, he was ultimately undone by a combination of a fourth-place finish and an unfortunate tendency toward not bothering to show up.

Will the Portlanders throw any wrenches into proceedings?
Short answer: No. Only one total appearance from them - an Abra McNair fourth place at the first event of the season.

So, clearly a season of dramatic and unforeseen developments. We see that most of the prepackaged narratives ended up being non-starters (as prepackaged narratives tend to be). However, that won't stop us from dishing out some fun-spirited, totally gratuitous and in no way official or meaningful awards:

Comeback of the Year Awards go to: Heather Fourie, Nikolay Nachev.

Comet of the Year Awards go to: Rebecca Jensen, Eric Jones.

Commemorative Jourdan Harvey One-Hit Wonder Awards (formerly known as the W[ho]TF Do They Think They Are Awards) go to: Dusty Caseria, Nina Potrebich.

Course Setter of the Year Awards go to: Jourdan Harvey, Celia Schofield.

HUOC (House Un-American Orienteers Committee) Awards go to: Peteris Ledins, Ing Uhlin.

Lifetime Achievement Award goes to: Heather Fourie.

Newcomer of the Year Awards go to: Evan Derickson, Linnea Nasman.

« Earlier | Later »